jump to navigation

Another year, another Ilm Summit has gone by (Part I) August 11, 2009

Posted by Msfatima in Ilm Summit, Islam, Life.
trackback

Asalaam O Alaykum,

Alhumdullilah, this year I had the opportunity once again to attend Ilm Summit, a two-week intense knowledge retreat hosted by Al Maghrib. The venue was none other than Houston, Texas (shout out to sister starbucks) where we stayed in a grand hotel, and I also got a nice view of the parking lot from my room =). I did not look outside much anyway.

When I came back to Toronto, everyone asked me that one infamous question, “how was Ilm Summit?” I’ve always had trouble properly defining Ilm Summit, surely one word cannot do justice to two weeks of amazing euphoria and learning Islam in ways one cannot imagine. All I could muster up was a word or two with the occasional stutter, “it was um…amazing…beyond amazing.”

In this post I will try to accurately describe my feelings; when I was preparing my self for this event, once I was there, and the returning journey. Insha’Allah.

When I applied for Ilm Summit, I was not expecting a really swift response. I did know they were accepting students in batches so I just kept my head up high, focused on the last few courses I had left for secondary school, and did lots of dua! Alhumdullilah, one day I was casually checking my e-mail and received the acceptance letter. Squeals of joy are an understatement as to what I was feeling when I found out I would be attending. I had already save up some money in my Ilm Summit travel funds box and was more than excited for July to come. I made sure I had all the proper equipment with me before I left and also made sure I was mentally ready. I knew that this year would be much more intense, which is why I told myself once I get there I would make a routine for myself in order to study hard and get good grades and be successful over all in retention of knowledge.

Comments»

1. Aisha - December 19, 2009

When will you be adding new posts?


Leave a Reply

