jump to navigation

Qur’an for all; in every hand, in every heart September 14, 2008

Posted by Msfatima in Life, Qur'an.
trackback

This is the motto incorporated within Al Huda institute, a center of learning for girls and women alike regardless of age, background, and ethnicity. The sound of the takbeerat resonates through the halls, signifying the beginning of class as we all settle in the main hall for Tajweed class. Women of different characters and personalities united for one reason, learning the Qur’an, the sacred word of Allah.

This is where I learn. Where I have made friendships, which will last me a lifetime. This is where I fell in love with the Qur’an and formed a closer bond with the Creator.

How I got there

The Taleem Al Qur’an course was starting for the first time in English in 2007, this was the year I would be going to grade 12. My sister had already done the course in Islamabad, Pakistan where Al Huda was founded. When she returned to Canada, she attended the course again in 2006 but it was in Urdu. From what I had heard from her, it was excellent. When the English Taleem Al Qur’an registration began my mother asked me whether I wanted to enroll or not.

I wanted to but at the same time something was holding me back. I was stuck. I didn’t want to leave my very last year of high school, I felt that I would be missing out on a lot, but after making a lot of Dua I decided to come to Al Huda. And Alhumdullilah, I am happy to say it was one of the best decisions I made in my life.

Curriculum

In a span of five hours we study Tafseer, word analysis of the Qur’an-studying the root words and context by Juzz (portions of the Qur’an). We also have Tajweed, which includes recitation of the Qur’an and learning the rules of Tajweed. As well as Arabic grammar in order to grasp the language better. Recently we started Book of Fasting in which we discuss permissibility’s and forbiddances during the month of Ramadhan. Concurrently, we are learning the Seerah of the Prophet (SAW) which is an excellent class giving us a glimpse into the life of the Prophet.

This is obviously just a summarized version of how the course really is, for more information about Al Huda you can visit here. Al Huda also provides courses for young children on the weekends and Hifz (memorization of the Qur’an) class for men and women, along with much more.

All I can say for myself is that the Taleem Al Qur’an course has been a life-altering experience. My priorities have changed in regards to how I live my life and what choices I make. Being connected with the Qur’an 24/7 has to be the greatest blessing from Allah, Alhumdullilah.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment